2017 Nobel Prize For Chemistry Goes To This Masterminds

2017 noble prize

Nobel Prize, 2017

Swiss researcher Jacques Dubochet and Americans Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson won the Nobel prize for chemistry this year. The prize was awarded for developing cryo-electron microscopy, which simplifies and improves the imaging of biomolecules. Therefore this new method starts a new era of biochemistry.

“Researchers can now freeze biomolecules mid-movement and visualise processes they have never previously seen, which is decisive for both the basic understanding of life’s chemistry and for the development of pharmaceuticals.”

It was the third Nobel prize of 2017.

Nobel prize for physics went to Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne for detecting gravitational waves and  Medicine Prize went to three Americans studying circadian rhythms — Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young.

Also published on Medium.